June 20th

June 20th

I am Tahasi Massk

Flowers do not grow naturally around our home. Rain is scarce in the summer months. That does not stop her. The ground is rocky. That does not stop her. There are many weeds. That does not stop her. Sifting through rows of new growth, she plucks the weeds so the flowers can thrive. Even when the weeds grow back, she does not give up. She kneels, and plucks them out again. It is her way of making the world more beautiful. She does not simply stand back and admire the flowers. Good enough is not her way. She finds the weeds, she kneels, and makes it so the flowers can thrive. And not just in the garden. I often mistake this gift for weakness. I think, ‘Why do you see so many weeds?’ Because, when the weeds are in me, it is hard for me to see clearly. But I thrive because of her strength. I grow because of her gift.

Leave a Reply

